h1

Questions?

September 12, 2013

Today I went to Owen’s school to talk to his Kindergarten class. I wanted to tell them a little more about Owen and allow them to ask questions. His teacher had indicated that some of the kids in his class were still apprehensive when it came to interacting with Owen. So we all thought it would be a good idea for me to come in and talk to the class.

601759_4898427497913_1331105485_nIt was a lot of fun. First I showed the kids some pictures of Owen doing some fun stuff. Things like riding his bike, dressed up for Halloween, riding his horse, etc. The kids got really excited to see him doing things that they do.

Then I talked about some of the best ways to interact with Owen and what some of his gestures mean. I told them that when he gets loud it is just because he is excited. Also, that if they are trying to share something with him that they might need to ask him a couple of times and wait a little longer than normal.

We also talked about Owen’s walker and his wheelchair. We talked about why Owen couldn’t talk or walk and why he wears braces on his feet.

Then I let the kids ask questions. And boy did they have questions. They asked me how Owen slept at night. They asked if he liked video games, if he liked dinosaurs and what he is going to be for Halloween this year.

Overall I would say it was definitely a success. When we were leaving several of the kids said goodbye to Owen. You could tell that this wasn’t the norm. Hopefully they will interact with him more now and not be nervous.

3 comments

  1. As always, SARA ROCKS! I hope to do this soon, too.


  2. Great job Sara! I can only imagine that tomorrow will be better due to your visit. 🙂


  3. You are such a great Mom, I am proud of you.



Leave a Reply

