h1

All you had to do was ask…

July 25, 2012

In the last 6 months or so Owen’s communication has taken off. He does a lot better with choices than he does open ended questions. Its been a hard thing for us to get in the practice of. But it really works.

So, instead of saying, “What color do you want?” We say, “Do you want red, blue or green?” If you ask, “What color do you want?” he will probably just repeat the question back to you. But if you give him a choice you can see him take a second to think about it and then respond. He has also started using “I want” when you ask. “I want blue”

My favorite is when he wakes up in the morning. I go in and tell him good morning. He repeats it back to me. Then I ask him if he wants to stay in bed or if he’s ready to get up. 9 times out of 10 the first few times I ask he tells me he wants to stay in bed. 🙂 So, I tell him I’ll come back. I usually give him about 5 minutes before I ask again. Its really cute.

His spontaneous speech has also been improving. His favorites right now are handing us his cup and saying, “More juice” and also when one of us leaves the room he says, “Bye Bye Mommy. Mommy’s at work.” Its kind of sad that he equates me leaving the room with me going to work.

I’m definitely curious how Owen will react when the day comes that Laney starts talking. Should be interesting.

One comment

  1. Adorable.



Leave a Reply

