h1

Wheelchairs

March 15, 2012

I guess I knew this day would get here… the day when we needed to get a wheelchair for Owen. We have one that we use right now that a good friend let us borrow. Owen has to have it to ride on the bus. In my mind he was going to be walking by now or using his walker all the time. I’m not saying that I’m disappointed. I’m very very proud of Owen and how far he has come.

My first thoughts on a wheelchair were that we just needed one for the bus and that I would like something that’s collapsible and light-weight.

Then we had a meeting with the sales rep and PT from school. The more we talked about it I realized we really needed to get something that Owen could operate himself. We want him to be as independent as possible. Why give him something that prohibits that? So, during that meeting we completely switched gears and changed what we were looking for.

There were a few different options for pediatric wheelchairs that would meet our requirements. One option was lower to the ground, Quickie Kidz. The other was bigger, Zippie, but would give Owen more room to grow. It felt like we were being steered more toward the chair that was bigger. But the one lower to the ground would allow Owen to possibly get in and out of the chair from his walker. There’s no chance of that in the big one.

The sales rep brought demos of each to the school for us to look at. We put Owen in the Quickie Kidz and it seemed to fit him great. He even put his hands on the wheels and moved himself a little.

So, after talking with my husband I think we are going to order the Quickie Kidz wheelchair for Owen.

3 comments

  1. I think Owen is a smart, fun-loving, sweet boy – and his current level of independence is something we aspire to for our smart, fun-loving, sweet boy. You go, Owen, go…and we hope to follow!


    • They are DEFINITELY two smart, charming, fun-loving boys. That’s one of the great things about our MNO group. Everyone is so inspirational in one way or another. A bunch of incredible women and kiddos. 🙂


  2. I admire your sharing your story and the love you obviously hold for Owen. I don’t know him, so can’t say if he is smart, fun-loving and independent. I can only guess he has picked some of that up from you.



Leave a Reply

