h1

I’m not super mom…

October 27, 2011

I am constantly being told, “I don’t know how you do it”. But I have news for everyone… I’m not super mom. I don’t handle all of this stuff tossed at me gracefully. I have days, like today, where I just want to sit down and cry.

Being a mom is hard. Being a mom that works full time is harder. Being the mom of a child with some extra needs that works full time is overwhelming at times. Being 7 months pregnant on top of all of that doesn’t help either.

Today after I got Owen on the bus I was working and doing some conference calls for work. I threw dinner in the crock pot. Then I had to go pick up Owen’s party invitations. Once I had those I swung by target to get a new filter for the humidifier since Owen has a cough. Then off to the school to drop off some of the invitations for his classmates.

As I was leaving and feeling a little out of breath (I’m sure being 7 months pregnant has nothing to do with that), I see Owen out on the playground. I was happy to see him out there in his walker. But then I realized he was standing there alone. He had a smile on his face. I’m sure he loves watching the other kids play and yell. But it just hit me. He’s alone. He’s not playing with the other kids. He’s not in a swing, riding a tricycle, chasing other kids.

That was it. I was officially having one of those moments. One of those moments where I wished he was doing those things. I know Owen was having fun out there. So, its just my issue. He will do those things when he is ready to.

Since I’m NOT super mom… I cried the rest of the way home.

One comment

  1. I get this same feeling every time I go to see my son’s Christmas show at school, and see the kids who would be her peers, singing and dancing on stage. Then I look at my daughter, sitting in her wheelchair next to me, holding her baby toys, and I get that same all-consuming sadness. I know what you mean. My daughter is a very happy child, and I am thrilled at her accomplishments, but sometimes it’s hard to see the other kids, and realize how much farther they have to go. It seems overwhelming. I understand that.



Leave a Reply

