h1

Owen’s “kerchiefs”

August 16, 2011

All of us parents of special needs children have those things we just didn’t really want to do. Doing these things forces us to face one of our children’s inabilities. We all focus so hard on being so positive we really hate to admit there are some things we have to accept.

For some reason one of those things for me was bibs. I swore I would not put a bib on Owen as a bigger kid. But as his drooling gets more and more out of control and I was changing his shirt 2 and 3 times a day I had to face it. I had to do something.

One of the employees at Owen’s old school, Howard Park, made him some “kerchiefs”. Its just a piece of cotton fabric with a terry cloth backing that goes around his neck. It gives him something to chew on and catches a good portion of the drool. As much as I didn’t want to “go there” it was helping.

So I broke down and decided to embrace it. I went out and bought some more “hip” fabric and made Owen some myself. I figure if he’s got to wear something like that I’m at least going to make it something cool looking. lol

I’m going to continue to work on ways to help Owen get his drooling under control… but in the meantime we’ve got something that works.

4 comments

  1. What a great idea, and kudos to you for coming up with a design that “looks cool.”

    One of the things that I have resolved to do for Claire is to always make sure she looks cute – cute outfits, cute hair accessories (when she grows hair), etc.

    I feel like it is so important for our kids to “blend in.” Or, at least, not stand out too much. Kerchiefs are a great way of doing that!


  2. We decided to embrace the differences a long time ago with our Owen too. When they asked if we wanted a beige cochlear implant to try and match his skin I said nope, we want bright blue. The beige ones always seemed sad to me, like you were embarrassed or something and it doesn’t even remotely hide it. I prefer to say that if we have to have it go big like we meant it. So I love the kerchiefs – dealing with our differences in style!


  3. Those are really cool. I especially loved the monkey one! Great idea. I know what you mean about things you don’t want to do. For us it may be forgoing regular clothes and going to overalls all the time. Because my daughter has got it in her head that clothes are not fun to wear and tries to undress any chance she gets (even in public). I too am going to try to make my own cute and hopefully comfy ones though. 🙂


  4. He looks pretty darn stylish in his kerchiefs! It is so interesting to see what us Moms come up with to make life better for our little guys/gals. Do you think Owen would mind coming to Lincoln to teach Miles some potty training tips? 🙂



Leave a Reply

