h1

How is potty training going?

August 12, 2011

I am happy to say it is going pretty well. Owen hasn’t figured out how/when to tell me when he has to go but if we stick him on the potty at regular times through out the day he does really well. We got off to a slow start. Partially because we had to learn to remember to take him.

It didn’t take him long to figure out what sitting on the potty meant. When we put him on we give him 3 or 4 minutes to go. When he goes we celebrate and give him a letter sticker (since Owen LOVES letters).

We have had several days where we only had to change his diaper once. Other than that he was dry all day. So exciting. I wasn’t sure how successful we’d be when we first started.

Several have asked me what type of potty we use. We use the Baby Bjorn Potty. I like it because it has a high back and high sides so Owen can support himself on the potty.

At this point I’m just hoping this will get carried through at school. I know its harder for them to remember to take him when he isn’t “asking” to go.

I guess I wanted to share this update because even though Owen isn’t walking or requesting, he is learning to go on the potty. I’m sure it will be a long time before he isn’t in a diaper, but at least we are going through less diapers at this point. 🙂  I’ll take what I can get.

One comment

  1. That is awesome!!!



Leave a Reply

