h1

Sensory Diet…

March 30, 2011

I asked Owen’s therapists about his issue with chewing on his shirt. Its non-stop. Between that and the extra drool from all of his talking his shirt is always wet. This is a habit I’d really like to break but wasn’t sure where to start.

Well, one of his therapists asked if anyone had every brought up a sensory diet or a brushing protocol. Two things I had never even heard of before. I had to google both. lol At first I was like, what kind of food do you eat for a “sensory diet.” 🙂

Turns out it really has nothing to do with food. ha ha. From the little bit I’ve learned… Its set sensory related activities you do at set times each day to fulfill your child’s sensory needs. Its supposed to help calm them or center them so they can focus on the task at hand.

After doing some research online, on message boards and polling my local mom’s group I’m thinking this might be something that will benefit Owen. Between his shirt biting, head shaking and “crazy time” (that’s what my friend calls it. its when Owen squeals shakes his head and flails his arms all at the same time) its hard to get him to focus and do anything.

So, I’m going to talk with Owen’s OT and borrow a book from a friend. Hopefully it will point me in the right direction on where to start. I’ll keep everyone posted on how it works out.

One comment

  1. Our Owen does many of the same things. We don’t have the shirt biting, but we have the head shaking and the crazy time where he can’t focus. I’ll be interested in seeing how it works for your Owen. Our Owen’s stuff didn’t show up until he was older, and we blamed it on the meds. But most of his meds are gone and he still does it.



Leave a Reply

