h1

How do you know?

March 28, 2011

One of the biggest issues I’ve run into as the parent of a developmentally delayed child is…

How do you know when your child needs extra therapy or a different therapist? I mean, I know a “bad” therapist when we get one. We’ve been lucky and have only had one since Owen was born. But now that Owen is in school we have less contact with the therapists. Owen’s two biggest issues at this point are his fine and gross motor. He’s making great progress with language and vision.

When do I know if he needs additional therapy though? And if he needs more is it because he doesn’t get enough at school or is it because the therapy he gets at school isn’t working. Right now we do hippotherapy and aqua therapy both outside of school.

It just seems like he isn’t making a lot of progress OT or PT wise right now. Is that just Owen or is it his therapies? I run myself in circles asking these questions. I know I’m not alone out here.

One comment

  1. That is a tough question and I myself have wrestled with it.



Leave a Reply

