h1

Why does everything have to be a fight?

February 13, 2011

I have no problem advocating for Owen and making sure he gets everything he needs and deserves. But does everything have to be a fight? Some times it just gets a little frustrating.

First, on Friday at aqua therapy, Owen’s therapist springs something at me at the end of his session. She asks me if Owen is less “wiggly” during land physical therapy. I wasn’t sure where she was going, but I told her he wasn’t. The kid just gets so excited when he gets to get in the water. She says Owen might be better off working with an OT for aqua therapy (as opposed to PT) to work on his sensory issues.

I admit I wasn’t quite on my toes and ready to respond. I had just got done wrestling Owen to get him dressed and his hair dried. And I was standing in a 95 degree room with my coat and a tired, cranky Owen. So, I just said ok and left. As I’m driving home I was like, Wait a minute! 1) He’s just excited about the water, he doesn’t have sensory issues. 2) Our insurance won’t cover OT.

Then, yesterday, I get an email from Owen’s school. I had been emailing repeatedly (3 different people) trying to find out if Owen was on the waiting list for full day preschool for next year. Right now he goes half-days and we have a great sitter for after school. But ideally I’d like Owen to spend more time with other kids. A lot of his time at preschool now is spent getting therapy.

Anyway, I finally get an email back and they say that they don’t think full day school would be a good fit for Owen. They just can’t offer Owen the support he needs. I know that I don’t have all the details on this yet. I’m just annoyed that even at his own school this is an issue.

I just wish Owen would get what he needed with out having to put up a fight.

3 comments

  1. Well said!


  2. That’s really frustrating. I’m sorry to hear you’re fighting more battles. Ugh.


  3. How exhausting! Adds so much extra to do to an already full plate!



Leave a Reply

