h1

Support from my girls

January 29, 2011

A year and a half ago a mom from the Delta Gamma Buddy Builders group I was involved in started organizing a Mom’s Night Out. This group has been going strong, once a month for a year and a half. Sometimes 4 or 5 people make it. Sometimes 13 or 14 people make it.

It is so great to get together with other moms of special needs kids to talk. Nothing matches talking with other people who just “get it.” I have learned so much from these ladies. We have all used different doctors, different therapies, different insurances… I learn something new every month.

The support of these women has made a huge difference in my life. I’m not knocking my family and other friends who have been wonderful. I hope we continue to meet for years to come.

I think all moms should have a group like this. I know several of my friends do, but most moms don’t take time for themselves. So, if you don’t, start planning. It does wonders for your sanity!

One comment

  1. Nothing matches talking with other people who just “get it.”

    This is my favorite line!!! Too true!



Leave a Reply

