h1

If I won the lottery…

January 25, 2011

As I talk with other special needs parents struggling to find the most basic things, I think to myself… If only I would win the lottery. I would help out my fellow parents. We fight to find things like child care, equipment, etc. I’m struggling even finding someone to cut Owen’s hair.

It amazes me how hard it is to find something like child care for our kiddos. Most daycares automatically told me no. No, he’s not potty trained and probably won’t be for a while. So, that excludes us from most child care facilities automatically. I applaud Owen’s new school. Their all day preschool does not require a kid to be potty trained.

And even something as simple as a haircut… Owen has a shunt which I guess freaks some people out. It’s no big deal. It’s just like a bump on his head. One lady just didn’t even cut his hair in that area. We had to take him to another place to fix his haircut a few days later.

I get that, from a business perspective, you don’t want to just gear towards such a special group. But typical businesses can expand the way they do things and open up to kids like ours. Make exceptions to some things. Have someone who is good with kids like ours.

I guess what I’m saying is that our kids are just kids. They aren’t weird. They aren’t scary. They’re just kids. We want things for our kids that everyone does. It amazes me how many adults just don’t get that.

2 comments

  1. Well said.


  2. Hi my name is kelly and i have a son with d same disorder. i have never meet a parent who has a child the same as me. I found out my son had a large head whn i was pregnant then at birth he was diagonosed with this hydrocephalous. Has your son just been like a nomal child living day by day. Aaron has 1 older brother and sister, and he also is very behind to a normal 2 year old, breaks my heart whn i see another child the same age as him because he is very behind. Do u get nervious if he ever bangs his head or if the shunt ever breaks or out. i would like to talk more about mine and your son that would be great.. kelly



Leave a Reply

