h1

Neurologist, Endocrinologist, Therapist…. all in one day?

September 9, 2010

Owen definitely let us know that we pushed him too far yesterday. By 4pm he was done. When it comes to throwing a good tantrum, Owen is definitely “typical”. lol

Early yesterday morning I went to Owen’s school for his Orientation and Mobility evaluation. When I first scheduled the eval I though we would be solving the problem of how Owen doesn’t look where he’s going in his walker. He bumps into things and misjudges doorways all the time. It turns out the therapist was more interested in solving the bigger problem of Owen not being motivated to go where we ask him to. That is a much larger issue I’d love to solve. She said she needs to think about it some more and consult some others. Keep your fingers crossed.

After that I headed back to work for a few hours. Its crazy when some days work is viewed as getting a break. πŸ™‚

I needed to leave work again at 1:30 to pick Owen up for the Endocrinologist appointment. Before I left though I got a call back from Owen’s Neurologist. I had called him earlier in the week. He had taken Owen’s MRI and information to a conference he was attending to get some second opinions on whether it is just a coincidence that Owen has hydro, chiari, random brain folds, etc… or if there is an associated syndrome. He told me there is some research being done on kids like Owen. He gave me the name of a doctor in California to contact. Surprisingly I had heard of this doctor already. A few other moms I know took their kids to see him when he was in Chicago. So, I will be contacting him soon to see what we need to do next.

Then I headed from work to pick up Owen at school. The poor kid was still napping (and snuggling with a little girl I might add… lol). I had to wake him up to head to the Endocrinologist. That did not help his mood. The new Endocrinologist was great. After talking everything over we decided to do an initial blood test for growth hormone. If those levels come back low, we’ll do some more tests. So, they had to draw Owen’s blood right then and there. That’s when Owen hit his limit. Can’t say I blame him.

From the Endo we met Brett in Webster, because we were going to meet the realtor to do some house shopping. Owen and I stopped at Bread Co. to get something to eat. Owen was throwing a FIT. He didn’t want to sit in the high chair, he was throwing everything off the table, crying… Then when Brett showed up Owen bit him… Twice!

Luckily Owen calmed down after we left. He ate a little and survived visiting 5 different houses. We didn’t get home until 8:30 last night. Needless to say we are all exhausted today.

8 comments

  1. Wow! What a day. I don’t remember, does Owen have his corpus callosum? Miles has major trouble processing directions and completing tasks you ask him to do. A few therapists have mentioned it could be linked to his missing corpus callosum. Any luck with houses this time?


  2. What I day-have been there done that! My daughter has to have some short R& R breaks in between too. Hope today is more relaxing .. and good luck on the bigger projects at hand.

    SpecialNeedsMom.com


  3. Hi, came across your blog. My daughter also has hydro among other medical conditions.


  4. Owen’s corpus callosum isn’t fully formed. I had no idea it could have affect on things like that. I’ll have to do a little more research.

    Hello Suzanne and Sarah, good to “meet” you. πŸ™‚ Suzanne, I read a little from your site yesterday. Great site. Sarah, how old is your daughter?


  5. Busy day! Out of curiosity, what is the doctor’s name in California? Just wondering if he/she is anywhere nearby πŸ™‚


    • I was wrong. He moved to Seattle, not California. His name is Dr. William Dobyns. He’s one of the top 10 geneticists in the country and he’s researching children with hydrocephalus. πŸ™‚


  6. She is now 5


    • Started reading your blog. Violet is a little cutie. I’m going to recommend your blog to some other moms. You guys are doing/trying a lot of the same things they are looking into.



Leave a Reply

