h1

Patience

September 7, 2010

In the past 6 months to a year I’ve been told no less than 75 times that I am patient. “I’m amazed by your patience.”, “You get the patience award.”, etc. I know my level of patience has increased because Owen definitely takes his time, but had no idea that it was noticeable to the point that random people had to comment on it.

Before Owen I was HIGHLY impatient. Anything that took even a little longer than it should annoyed me. If you would have told me 3 years ago that I wouldn’t be phased by taking 45 mins to walk 50 ft I would have thought you were crazy. But somewhere along the line it just happened.

I guess it started when Owen was really young and we realized he had CVI (Cortical Visual Impairment). You would hold up a toy for him and have to wait up to 2-3 minutes for him to “see” it and grab it. 2-3 minutes is a really long time to sit there holding a toy out, especially for a busy mom.

Owen’s walker was the ultimate test. Some days it will take 5-10 minutes to get into class… others it could take 45. He gets so easily distracted. He wants to touch and feel everything. He wants to stop and listen to the other kids and parents.

Sure I could have easily just sat the toy in Owen’s lap and said “Here”. Sure I could just push him into school in his walker (which I have to do sometimes when we are running late). But when would he learn to do it on his own? So, I guess I have no choice but to be patient.

This would be just one of the many things Owen has taught me.

One comment

  1. Patience is definitely a word that can describe anyone caring for a child with special needs. And I’m sure you are great at it and Owen appreciates it sooo much. You said it perfectly, how else are they going to learn if we don’t let them do it.
    Also, I love the picture.



Leave a Reply

