h1

Family

August 14, 2010

I always knew I had a great family, but didn’t realize how wonderful until I had Owen. We have gotten so much support from our entire family. It never ceases to amaze me.

Since we knew Owen had hydrocephalus before he was born we had time to prepare ourselves and our family. Several family members came up to stay when we had Owen. No one lives locally. They helped take care of us since we had to split up into different hospitals. They took care of our house and our dogs. It was more than I could have ever asked for.

I have a HUGE extended family. Everyone read up on what hydrocephalus was before Owen was even born. They always want the latest updates on Owen’s progress. I never knew how much support we would have.

There is also my online family of moms and my local Mom’s Night Out group. Ever since Owen was born we have met some of the most wonderful, strong and caring people. It has restored my faith in humanity. You hear so many horrible stories on the news. Now I know that there are just as many inspiring “stories”. Owen is involved in so many organizations that run almost entirely on volunteers. That just amazes me.

Leave a Reply

